MY BEP EXPERIENCE

My next media adventure (TV)

Posted on: September 18, 2009

This is my third week working in the TV broadcasting industry and the question I keep asking myself is: How disrupted is that business?

I don’t have an answer yet, because I am too busy understanding the status quo of this industry, which is overwhelming for a newbie like me.

The talk is dominated by “audience share”, “gross rating points” ” reach” and “prime time”. The industry seem to work by some very well defined rules around these parameters. It does not take a genius to figure out that technological and social developments will have an impact on how things work in the TV business. I will try my best to figure them out and share them with you over the next couple of month.

In the end this is essentially an advertising driven business and therefore I think a good starting point is to review some social media dynamics. This video  does a great job in putting things into perspective.

More to come, stay tuned
Tobi

Share

Leave a comment